Minnesota Child Labor Laws
Child labor laws set the standard for many states, but every state also has the option to create their own set of unique laws and regulations where they see fit. Minnesota has taken the federal child labor laws and added quite a few of their own, making it well known that the safety and education of minors is their top priority. Every child labor law is geared at keeping minors away from hazardous machinery, which can include quite a bit, such as industrial size washing machines, and making sure that they are not overworked on school days.
Child Labor Laws in Minnesota or Minors Under 14
Child Labor Laws in Minnesota clearly state that an individual under 14 cannot be employed, but there are a few exceptions to the law. You can be employed:
- As a newspaper carrier
- An actor
- A model
- A referee in a youth program
- In agriculture
- In a business that your parents own
If you’re under the age of 14, it may seem a bit hopeless. Jobs are few and far, but that doesn’t mean that you are stuck depending on your parents for everything that you want. Instead, you can easily make a few bucks doing some odd jobs or working online. Side jobs, such as mowing grass, can be profitable.
It may take some time to find the perfect fit, but you can easily make enough money to buy your clothes, or to save up for a new PlayStation. Browse through the links for more jobs for teens under 14.
Child Labor Laws in Minnesota For Minors 14 and 15 Years Old
According to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, an employer may not employ individuals under the age of 14, which is great when you consider that a lot of states have set this age at 15 years old. Minors that are 14 and 15 years old have to comply with a few special restrictions, such as:
- They cannot be employed in a walk in freezer, except for occasional use
- They are not permitted to work around alcohol, or to serve alcohol
- They are not permitted to work with machinery
- No welding
- They are not allowed to work in a commercial warehouse
- Specific laws state what hours minors can, and cannot, work
- Specific hours must be followed on school days
Click on the link above for a complete list of the laws and regulations pertaining to minors that are 14 and 15 years old.
Child Labor Laws in Minnesota For Minors 16 and 17 Years Old
Once you hit the ages of 16 and 17, things get a bit easier. Jobs are easier to come by because the laws aren’t quite as strict, and that’s something a lot of employers like. You still have to follow a few regulations, though. For example:
- You can only work specific hours on school days (written permission from a parent can extend these hours for about half an hour)
- No working near hazardous materials or explosives, like fireworks
- You cannot work as a driver for hire, such as a taxi driver
- No serving alcohol or selling tobacco
- You are not permitted to work specific railway jobs
Click here for a full list of all the industries you can, and cannot, work in as well as other important details, like restrictions on alcohol.
Getting a Work Permit in Minnesota
Many states require minors to obtain a work permit before becoming employed, but Minnesota is not one of them. Instead, employers are required to have knowledge of the child labor laws, and to stick to them. Minors that wish to work are required to provide a few documents, but they are not required to get a work permit. Visit this page for more information about what you need to do before you start working.